Where am I?

As part of my evening entertainment, I brought with me a set of 5 DVDs that Alex (my son) lent me, called the Dekalog – it is a representation of the 10 commandments made by a Polish film maker, set in a tenament block in Warsaw, in Polish with subtitles and while very interesting is rather intense and dark.

I am also getting to read a number of good books (on my Kindle) the last being The Girl You Left Behind by Jo Jo Moyes set in First World Wartime France and contemporary London (highly recommended).

In reality I am in Livingstonia, one of three white faces resident in a town of 6690 (in 2008) souls served by the impressive edifice of the CCAP* church (pictured), at the DGM Hospital (pictured) serving a population of 60000 from the surrounding areas, all black.

My question is at times, when engrossed in the Dekalog or a good book, I am not really sure if I am in Poland, France, England or Malawi. Does anyone else have this problem?

* CCAP = Church of Central Africa Presbyterian

6 thoughts on “Where am I?

  1. You sound wonderfully disorientated. Either its a great break and a once off wonderland of being outside of all your grounding landmarks……. or its a tough hard place you will have to endure with the help of good books which transport you far away. My hope is that you are learning so much that you think its all worth while what ever way you end up looking at this experience. I have been following your blog and am so proud of you, and thrilled you have gone on this adventure. Love Hilary

  2. Peter, I know how you feel about being disorientated, when we were living in US I kept having to remind myself where I was! Enjoy a few weeks of isolation from the world and fast paced life. Alison

  3. I know how you feel! I’m reading a book set in Bombay and watching the West Wing series from the foothills of the Soutpansberg where I see farmers in bakkies and Venda women in full traditional dress at Pick n Pay… 🙂

Leave a comment